Sagermatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park was established on July 19, 1976, by the Government of Nepal, under the National Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act. It is located in the Solukhumbu District of eastern Nepal, and covers an area of 1,148 km² (443 sq mi). The park is dominated by Mount Everest, the highest mountain in the world, and also includes other peaks such as Lhotse, Cho Oyu, and Amadablam.

The idea of establishing a national park in the Khumbu region was first proposed in 1971 by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). The government of Nepal approved the proposal in 1972, and the park was officially established four years later.

Sagarmatha National Park was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1979. It is recognized for its outstanding natural beauty, its rich biodiversity, and its cultural significance. The park is home to a variety of wildlife, including snow leopards, red pandas, musk deer, and Himalayan tahr. It is also home to the Sherpa people, who have a long and close association with the region.

Tourism is a major economic activity in Sagarmatha National Park. Thousands of tourists visit the park each year to climb Mount Everest and other peaks, and to see the stunning scenery. The park also supports a number of other tourism-related businesses, such as trekking companies, lodges, and restaurants.

The management of Sagarmatha National Park is a challenge. The park is located in a remote and mountainous region, and it is difficult to provide basic services such as electricity, water, and sanitation. The park is also vulnerable to climate change, which is causing glaciers to melt and snow patterns to change.

Despite these challenges, Sagarmatha National Park remains one of the most popular tourist destinations in Nepal. It is a unique and precious natural resource that is essential to the local economy and culture.

Here is a timeline of some key events in the history of Sagarmatha National Park:

  • 1971: FAO proposes the establishment of a national park in the Khumbu region.
  • 1972: Government of Nepal approves the proposal to establish a national park.
  • 1976: Sagarmatha National Park is officially established.
  • 1979: Sagarmatha National Park is inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • 2002: Buffer Zone added to the park.
  • 2007: Gokyo lakes designated a Ramsar site.

Today, Sagarmatha National Park is a thriving ecosystem that is home to a variety of wildlife and plant life. It is also a popular tourist destination, and its management is a challenge. However, the park remains an important part of Nepal's natural and cultural heritage.


Previous Janakpur